The AusIMM EEF Scholarship Program

AusIMM EEF scholarship applications have closed for the 2018 academic year. Scholarship applications for 2019 will open in mid-2018.


  • Significant financial support during the course of your studies
  • Access to quality mentoring with an industry professional
  • Participation in a one-week intensive field trip to a mineral-rich region of Australia
  • Recognition and career-building opportunities
  • Development of personal and professional skills

The AusIMM EEF scholarship programs support students with:

  • A passion for the minerals industry
  • Strong leadership qualities
  • A proactive approach to personal and professional development

'The Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award provided fantastic opportunities to further my understanding of the Australian mining industry. The scholarship mentoring program in particular has been invaluable as I plan out the start of my career in mining.'
James Mitchell GAusIMM (2014 awardee)

For more information please email or phone +61 3 9658 6100.


Photo: ...
The 2017 Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award – Rahel Abebe

Rahel is a final year Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) (Honours) student at Federation University in Ballarat, Victoria. Rahel completed a Bachelor of Science at the University of Melbourne before commencing her studies in mining engineering.

Rahel has been involved in various AusIMM student chapters, the Melbourne Mining Club and WIMnet Victoria. She presented at the 2016 AusIMM New Leaders' Conference in Brisbane on her experiences as the 2015 Atlas Copco Scholarship winner. Rahel is the student representative for her university's Engineers Industry Advisory Group and is a member of the Golden Key International Honour Society.

She has had summer placements with Doray Minerals and Mining Plus. After graduation, Rahel hopes to commence study in the business realm of the sector.


Photo: ...
The 2017 Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award – Leslie Meintjes

Leslie is currently in his sixth year of university, studying a Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) (Honours) and Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) at the University of Queensland. Leslie was previously awarded the Newcrest Mining Engineering Scholarship and completed his vacation work placement at the Cadia Valley operations.

Leslie enjoys challenging himself to find innovative solutions to complex problems and has won first prize in the Shell Malaysia Think Tank Innovation Competition and the University of Queensland’s core drilling strata detection engineering project.

Leslie has been an executive committee member of the AusIMM Southern Queensland Student Chapter since 2015 and is currently serving as President of the chapter. He was also a member of the organising committee of the 2016 AusIMM New Leaders' Conference.


Photo: ...
The 2017 EEF PhD Award – Ayesha Ahmed

Ayesha Ahmed just started the second year of a PhD in Earth Sciences at the University of Tasmania. Her project focuses on identifying patterns in propylitic alteration mineral chemistry around porphyry deposits and using those patterns to provide insights into ore-forming processes. Her field site is the Yerington porphyry Cu– Mo–Au district in Nevada, USA.

One of her career highlights was working as a project geologist and being a major part of the discovery and subsequent development of the Invincible gold deposit in Western Australia.

Ayesha is currently the University of Tasmania representative for the AusIMM Women in Mining Network. Her role includes being a judge at the 2017 Tasmanian Women in Resources awards and a committee member for the national awards.

2017 Education Endowment Fund Premium Scholarships Awardees

  • Ross Chandler, James Cook University, Bachelor of Geology
  • Charlese Connolly, University of Queensland, Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical and Metallurgical) (Honours)
  • Sam Diamant, University of New South Wales, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) and Bachelor of Commerce (Finance)
  • Hendrik Enslin, Curtin University of Technology, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining)
  • Fontae Franks, University of Adelaide, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) (Honours) and Bachelor of Science (Geology)
  • Alexander Lane, University of Wollongong, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining)
  • Alejandro Mari-Chatkiewicz, Monash University, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) (Honours)
  • Paul Tsihlis, University of New South Wales, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) and Bachelor of Commerce (Finance)
  • Ashleigh Ventura, University of New South Wales, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining and Civil) (Honours)
  • Marko Zegarac, Curtin University of Technology, Bachelor of Science (Geophysics) and Bachelor of Science (Applied Geology)

Previous Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award Winners.

If you have any further queries, please use the feedback form.

ausimm EEF Program

Recipients of the 2015 EEF Scholarships on the Field Intensive in Mount Isa with AusIMM leaders Dale Sims and Chris Carr.